From Reddit: Someone gave up.
From Mental Floss:
In 1924, the Akron Candy Company in Ohio had developed a small, spherical hard candy on a stick. When it came to naming the confection, sales manager I.C. Bahr came up with “Dum Dums” because he thought it was a phrase that could easily be uttered by children. Simple, colorful, and inexpensive, Dum Dums soon became an institution.
The brand was purchased in 1953 by Ohio’s Spangler Candy Company, which already had a solid reputation for its hard candies, Circus Peanuts and chocolates. Spangler has added many flavors over the years, including Buttered Popcorn, Cotton Candy, and Bubblegum. In 2006 the company celebrated its 100th anniversary by introducing two new flavors – pink lemonade and cherry cola.
Building a Mystery
Some Dum Dums have wrappers with question marks where the flavor is normally printed. This was a marketing idea that made the production process run more smoothly and made eating Dum Dums more fun. The Mystery Flavor pop is a mixture of two flavors that come together when the end of one batch of candy meets the beginning of the next batch. Rather than shutting down to clean out the candy equipment between flavors, Spangler turned lemons into lemonade and made pops out of the combination of flavors – the tail end of the old, and the beginning of the new. The candy lines keep running continuously, and the Mystery Flavor pops are a surprise treat every time.
From Reddit: At last, my search is over!
One of the comments: I used to work for a grocery store. We called the giant cucumbers Lonely Housewife Specials. On a side note I once saw three mid 40s women in the produce section giggling. I then saw one lift her skirt and act as if she was about impale herself with one while another took a photo, then put it back on the shelf.....
From Huff Po:
Twinkies are not vegan. Twinkies are not vegetarian. Twinkies are made with beef fat.
Beef fat, or tallow, is an almost-tasteless type of shortening commonly used in packaged foods as a preserver -- McDonald's used to cook its fries in a beef tallow mixture, before they switched over to vegetable oil in the 90s.
But why Hostess' Twinkies? They seem so innocent. We love them for their inimitable artificial taste, their inexplicable spongey texture and their long shelf life (a myth, but we snack post-expiration anyway).
No, Twinkies never made a promise to be healthy. With more than 30 ingredients (many unpronounceable), 33 grams of sugar and 9 grams of fat per serving, it'd be doltish to expect they'd provide any real nutritional benefit. But it does come as a surprise to any unsuspecting snacker that the little tubular treat would contain any animal derivative at all. A representative from Hostess confirmed with The Huffington Post that Twinkies are not a vegetarian food.
For anyone who has beef with the beef, it'd be wise to do a close-read on product ingredient lists: Many seemingly-vegetarian foods, like refried beans, potato chips and even orange juice contain animal products beyond milk and eggs